ECE United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

UN Entity Layer: 
Regional Commissions

The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) was set up in 1947 by ECOSOC. It is one of five regional commissions of the United Nations.

UNECE's major aim is to promote pan-European economic integration. To do so, it brings together 56 countries located in the European Union, non-EU Western and Eastern Europe, South-East Europe and Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and North America. All these countries dialogue and cooperate under the aegis of UNECE on economic and sectoral issues.

Work on Gender Equality 

Assisting the member states in implementing internationally agreed commitments to women's empowerment and gender equality and provide a regional platform for policy-oriented research and dialogue through expert group meetings, workshops and regional conferences.

More specifically, UNECE  

  • Provides a forum for regional reviews of the Beijing Platform for Action and exchange of good practices in mainstreaming gender into economic policies,
  • Collects gender-disaggregated data, and provides training on gender statistics,
  • Mainstreams gender into sub-regional economic cooperation through the Working Group on Gender and Economy within the UN Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA), and
  • Builds knowledge and capacity on women's entrepreneurship in South-East Europe, the South Caucasus, and Central Asia, and provides networking opportunities for women entrepreneurs in these regions.

Source: UNECE


Contact information

For further information, please visit the official ECE United Nations Economic Commission for Europe website.