ESCWA Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia

UN Entity Layer: 
Regional Commissions

The Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA) was established on 9 August 1973 pursuant to the Economic and Social Council’s resolution 1818 (LV). The purpose of setting up the Commission was to raise the level of economic activity in member countries and strengthen cooperation among them.

Work on Gender Equality 

ESCWA Centre for Women (ECW) Centre for Women was established on October 1, 2003, following the Commission's adoption of Resolution 240(XXII). This resolution, recognizing that a fundamental part of development is the empowerment of women, called for the creation of a Committee on Women comprising the member countries, and for the establishment of a women's center at ESCWA. The center continues and expands on the work carried out by the Women Empowerment and Gender Mainstreaming Team, formerly a part of the Social Development Division at ESCWA. The ECW work on encouraging member States to act decisively to integrate women in all aspects of the development process.

The centre focuses on three main areas of empowerment: economic (poverty alleviation), social (gender roles and partnership in the family) and political (sharing in decision-making and political participation). 

Source: ESCWA 

Contact Information

For more information, please visit the official ESCWA website.