Help us create the new!

Policy Forum 2011: Women in Mediation

Monday, January 17, 2011 - 19:00
PeaceWomen Consolidated Themes: 
Peace Processes
Hunt Alternatives Fund

The Policy Forum will be the culmination of two weeks of consultations with women mediators from Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. These experts will raise the profile of women in mediation and provide specific recommendations to those who plan and support negotiations about the importance of inclusive, multi-track processes.

These experts will join nearly 500 professionals with interest in peace and security issues including representatives of the United States government, other governments, non-government organizations, private contractors, and academia.

For more information, please contact Michelle Page at 202.403.2004 or


Inclusive Security's annual Colloquium begins at Harvard University's John F. Kennedy School of Government with a weeklong executive education program, public events, and meetings. Our participants then travel to Washington, DC, where they strategize and draft recommendations in conjunction with Inclusive Security staff on ways to increase women's participation and engagement in peace-building processes.

A vital aspect of our colloquium is brokering relationships among participants and policy shapers. In individual meetings, small group discussions, and public fora, participants meet with experts, elected and appointed government officials, directors of non-governmental organizations, and journalists. One of the highlights of colloquium is the annual Inclusive Security Policy Forum. Each January, Policy Forum brings together hundreds of policy shapers from the Washington, DC area for focused discussions on the year's topic.

Each colloquium includes 18 to 25 leaders from conflict areas all over the world. Past participants have attended from such diverse regions as Afghanistan, Bolivia, Bosnia, Colombia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Kashmir, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Mongolia, Nepal, Palestine, the Philippines, Rwanda, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, and Uganda.